Book Of The Month: April. Swamplandia! by Karen Russell

Back in January I read a blog which exhorted me (and by extension you) to take some positive action to help authors and independent bookshops. The idea was to buy at least one book a month at full price from an independent bookseller.
Now that’s a New Year’s Resolution I can get on board with. I added another rider just for me: let it be by an author I’ve never read before. I’m finding keeping it is pure pleasure – in fact it’s taken all the guilt away from my book purchasing (not that there was much guilt involved to begin with).
I’ve just been out to my favourite neighbourhood bookshop – Nicholas Hoare – to pick up my April choice, Swamplandia! by Karen Russell.

This time yesterday I’d never heard of this author. While I was waiting for my wife in the gym yesterday evening however, I read an interview with her in the Winter edition of Tin House (you can read it here), and suddenly I had to read this book. I can’t wait.
March choice: The Evolution of Bruno Littlemore by Benjamin Hale
February choice: The Thousand Autumns of Jacob De Zoet by David Mitchell
January choice: Room by Emma Donoghue

Leave a comment